‘You can use a wedge instead of a putter on the green’…Chung makes birdie with a wedge shot from the green at Jang Tawang
Powerful long hitter Chung Chan-min used a wedge instead of a putter on the green for a birdie.
On the 18th hole (par-5) of the first round of the Korea Professional Golf (KPGA) Korean Tour’s KB Financial Reeve Championship at Blackstone Golf Club (par-72) in Icheon-si, Gyeonggi-do, on Friday, Chung put his ball on the green in two.
The pin was in the back of the two-tiered green, but the ball landed 20 meters away in the bottom center of the green. I needed two putts for birdie, let alone eagle.
After some discussion with his caddie, Chung was handed a wedge instead of a putter.
His wedge landed three meters in front of the hole, rolled slightly, and stopped less than a meter away.
He hit it with the wedge, but the green remained unscathed. It was a technical shot that utilized the bounce of the wedge.
The crowd applauded the magical green wedge shot.
Chung holed the birdie putt and finished the first round on a high note with a 1-under 71.
The South Korean, who won his first professional tournament earlier this month at the GS Caltex Mae Kyung Open at Nam Seoul CC, also showed off his skill with a picture-perfect wedge shot from the fringe just off the green on No. 1, floating the ball and placing it directly into the hole three meters in front of him.
“I told my caddie that if I hit it with a putter, it would be a three-putt, so it would be better if I hit it with a wedge, so I tried it and it worked out well,” Chung said.
“I tried it once in a practice round and it didn’t damage the green,” he said. “In a match, I didn’t want to do it because I thought I would be criticized, but I was confident that the wedge shot wouldn’t damage the green, so I did it.”
There is no rule that says you must use a putter on the greens in golf tournaments. You can use any club, not just wedges. It’s not against the rules to damage the green.
Chung’s day was a roller coaster, with five birdies, a double bogey, and two bogeys.
He was still able to hit his driver well over 300 yards. His tee shot on No. 6 hit 370 yards.
On the 18th hole, he hit a 309-yard tee shot with a hybrid, then hit an iron to the green with 240 yards left.토토사이트
But he also made a costly mistake. A double bogey on the eighth (par-4) came after he hit a ball out of a bunker that ended up in the water.
“After winning my first title, I was tired from accumulated fatigue, so I decided to take a break from the next tournament to rest my body and mind,” said Chung. “This time, I will play with all my strength.”