‘Lee Kang-cheol-ho search battle?’ Australia, 6 WBC representatives participated in Doosan practice match… Including Oxspring 

‘Lee Kang-cheol-ho’s first opponent of the World Baseball Classic (WBC), Australia, will enter the exploration match through a practice match against the Doosan Bears.

On the 18th, Doosan will play against Australia All-Stars at the Blacktown International Baseball Stadium in Sydney, Australia.

Doosan, which is the only one of the 10 clubs to hold a spring camp in Australia, plans to play a practice match against Australian all-stars on the 18th and 19th to enhance their sense of actual combat.

On the 16th, two days before the match, the ABL (Australian Professional Baseball League) sent an all-star list to Doosan.

It also included six of the WBC national team players in March. Infielder Rickson Wingrove, outfielder Jordan McArdle, pitcher Tot Van Stingel (both Adelaide Giants), pitchers Luke Wilkins, Josh Geyer and Liam Doolan (both Sydney Blue Sox) will start.

There are also some familiar faces. Chris Oxspring (46, Sydney), who played five seasons in the KBO League, was also included in the All-Stars. 안전놀이터

Oxspring debuted in the KBO League in 2007 wearing a LG Twins uniform. After playing for LG for two years, he returned to the KBO League in 2013 by signing with the Lotte Giants. Oxspring, who played an active role as a ‘filial son’ by winning double-digit wins in two seasons at Lotte, left KT in 2015 with a 12-10 loss and an average ERA of 4.48. His career record in the KBO League was 49 wins and 40 losses in 136 games with an earned run average of 3.90.

Even at the age of his mid-40s, Okspring appeared in 13 games in the 2022-2023 Australian League, throwing 29⅓ innings and showing off his ERA with an earned run average of 2.15.

Meanwhile, the Korean WBC team, led by KT Wiz coach Lee Kang-chul, is convened in Arizona on the 15th to train.

Korea, which is included in Group B of the first round of the WBC finals, will play against Australia (March 9) at Tokyo Dome, Japan, followed by Japan (10th), Czech Republic (12th), and China (13th).